Photofocus (old site)

75

A while ago when I wrote about switching to Micro Four Thirds, I posted about my lens selection.  I got lots of email and social media contacts asking me why I wasn’t using this zoom or that zoom. I do use some zooms, mostly because the micro four-thirds lenses don’t cover some of the focal lengths I need without zooms, but I primarily use and prefer primes. Here’s why.

1. Habit. I am older than most of you and back when I started in photography, zoom lenses were just horrible. They didn’t perform as well as modern zooms and most of us avoided them like the plague. They were slow, not very sharp at either extreme, bulky and expensive. I just got used to shooting with primes.

2. Focus. Whether you are using auto-focus, or manual focus, primes almost always focus faster/better than zooms. At my advanced…

View original post 726 more words